Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chihuahua with heart trouble

Chihuahua with heart trouble

I've got a Chihuahua mix that I've had since a puppy. She's about 6 yrs. old. She looks basically like a large Chihuahua. 10 mos ago when she was at the vet he told me she weighed about 14 lbs, and had a heart murmor. He said on a scale of 1 to 5 (5 being the worst) she was a 1. Since it's been hot around here since May I noticed she's panting a lot and not her self, sometimes skipin meals (not like her at all) So after a week of this I took her to the vet and she now weighs just under 17 lbs!!!! and has a level 2 murmor. Obviously I've got to put her on a diet. Vet says if it goes to 3 she needs to go on medication. I keep her in the house in the air conditioning except for toilet trips. Anybody ever heard that this 1-5 heart murmor rating is standard method? Thanks.

Grading heart murmurs

Hi! I am not a doctor but my pom puppy did just have open heart surgery for PDA...successfully! We had a cardiology consult and they graded heart murmurs on scale of 1-6 which I believe is the same grading system for people. (I used to work in EKG). Jolies murmur was a 6 and very bad, her heart was enlarged to twice its size trying to compensate. As for the weight gain problem, my older pom has been gaining tons of weight but I am attributing that to the new puppy and extra treats. I have to watch him! He is 9. THere is a very good vet who visits this site Dr Welton, hopefully he will see your post and give you the correct info and how to proceed. Some people thought we were crazy to pay for open heart surgery for a 4 month puppy but how could we not? There is a program called Care Credit that some vets participate in. It allows you pay off in payments with no or little interest. So I dont get a new enagement ring....She is my little diamond. Did I say that out loud? LOL. Good luck! Write any time. If you are in NY State Cornell University/Hospital is the BEST!!!! Shelley