Thread: My girl refuses to eat her prescription diet!

My girl refuses to eat her prescription diet!

Hi everyone
    I'm new to this and could really do with any advice anyone has to offer!
    My 10 year old labrador sheepdog mix, Molly, was diagnosed with early stage kidney failure three weeks ago. The vet put her on Hill's KD prescription diet and she is also taking half a Fortekor tablet every day.

At first, she loved her new food and would tear through it. But last week she just stopped liking it. I am wondering if this is because she is bored of it? Before she was diagnosed with kidney failure she would have gotten different food to eat every day. I know the Hill's prescription food can be bland, but I am reluctant to mix anything in with it as my vet told me this will cancel out the work this prescription food does.

When she refuses to eat her food, I take away her dish and give it back to her a few hours later. It doesn't really seem to be working though. Her appetite is normal other than this, she still wants food will gobble up anything else she is given. I'm really at a loss as to what to do, because I'm afraid she will starve herself

Lucky does that sometimes. It doesn't matter what food we give her. We sometimes put a little water over her food, and for whatever reason, this works. You could try that. Water shouldn't cancel the affects.
    "The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who look on and do nothing."

Albert Einstein

My Gang:

Smokey 11 year old cat
    Tiger 7 year old cat
    Naomi 2 year old cat
    Yuki 2 year old cat
    Kaspian 6 months
    Kegan The baby
    Molly 8 year old dog
    Lucky 6 year old dog
    Callie 1 year old dog
    Connor the gunea pig
    A mess of fish

Rest In Peace:
    Tuki 6 week old kitten