PDA

View Full Version : Help - how do i catch a lovely but frightened stray cat

Tany
03-12-2004, 02:23 PM
I've been feeding a stray cat for 2 years now and want to take him to the vet to get "done" and to treat him for all fleas and injuries etc. He also has clumps of fur on his back and now a circle of hair missing on his head which bleeds in parts.
He is a lovley looking big male, very quiet and seems passive. He has gotten a bit used to me feeding him and will sniff my hand and has on occasion let me stroke him but he swats down still in fear. I have wanted to take him to my vets to get checked and Done before now but am worried he wont come back to feed and i feed him at least 4 times a day!
I am very worried about him and today tried to catch him with my own cat basket. I actually got him to eat some chicken ( his fav meat) from the back of the basket and i used a rope to shut the door so he would see me doing it. Unfortunately he pushed at the door and i wasn't quick enough to hold it shut and he got out.
He hasnt been back yet.
I could get a trap from the cat proection but i have got one of those before and he didn't go in it they also seem so harsh!
does anyone have any advice on how to get him causing him as less stress as possible?
I thought of get a sedative drug and but the vets do not advise this!
Help - He needs to get medical treatments for his wounds asap!!
http://free.one.picturehost.co.uk/pudd.jpg

Furbaby Mom
03-12-2004, 04:14 PM
First of all take a deep breath and relax. Cats will sense a change in you.

If you've been feeding him this long, he has to have some level of trust in you or he wouldn't be coming back. This will work to your favor.

Put your cat carrier close to where you feed him everytime you feed him. Slowly move the food closer to the carrier each day. Start feeding him in the carrier but don't try to close the door.